Carols of our Time (Carols by Women Composers), new

Carols of our Time (Carols by Women Composers)

Publisher Encore Publications
Composer Sarah MacDonald & Timothy Rogers (Edited)
Voice/Instrument SATB
Difficulty Unrated

Hymns and Carols for Advent, Christmas, Epiphany & Candlemas for mixed-voice choirs compiled and edited by Sarah MacDonald and Timothy Rogers

At the heart of this collection is a set of well-known hymns, arranged with thrilling descants and imaginative harmonisations by Sarah MacDonald. They will enhance the singing of hymns at carol services and Christmas concerts.

All of the carols are composed by women, including Charlotte Baskerville, Esther Bersweden, Kerry Boyle, Eleanor Daley, Tamsin Jones, June Nixon, Sarah MacDonald, Sasha Johnson Manning, Stephanie Martin, Yshani Perinpanayagam, Electra Perivolaris, Ghislaine Reece-Trapp, Lucy Walker and Alison Willis. The range of styles is distinctive and diverse with a mix of accompanied and unaccompanied works.

Women authors represented in the edition include Sharon Grenham-Thompson, Frances Harper, Edith Nesbit, Christina Rossetti and Yshani Perinpanayagam.

The anthology contains original pieces and appealing arrangements of classic carols. Most of the items are newly composed and published for the first time. Overall, the music will enrich and enliven the Christmas experience, providing rewarding repertoire for choirs of all abilities.

Carols of Our Time also includes a listing of readings and repertoire relevant for A Festival of Nine Lessons and Carols, as well as suggestions for seasons other than Christmas.

About the editors:

Sarah MacDonald MA, FRCO, ARSCM is Fellow and Director of Music, Selwyn College, Cambridge. She is also the University Organist at the University of Cambridge, as well as Director of the Girl Choristers, Ely Cathedral. She is a Patron of the Society of Women Organists, an Honorary Patron of the Herbert Howells Society, and President of the School Organists’ Association. The Royal College of Organists has announced Sarah as President Elect, to take office as President in July 2024.

Timothy Rogers BMus, MA, FTCL, FLCM is a music publisher and composer. He founded Encore Publications in 1992 and works as its Head of Publishing. He is also the author of ‘Christmas Eve at King’s: 100 Years of Nine Lessons & Carols’.



arr. Sarah MacDonald: Come, thou Redeemer of the earth

arr. Sarah MacDonald: O come, O come, Emmanuel

arr. Sarah MacDonald: Of the Father’s heart begotten

arr. Sarah MacDonald: Once in royal David’s city

arr. Sarah MacDonald: It came upon the midnight clear

arr. Sarah MacDonald: While shepherds watched their flocks by night

arr. Sarah MacDonald: O come, all ye faithful arr. Sarah MacDonald: Hark! the herald-angels sing


arr. June Nixon: A lovely lady sat and sang

Stephanie Martin: An earthly tree

Esther Bersweden: Away in a manger

Sasha Johnson Manning: Balulalow (O my dear heart)

Charlotte Baskerville: Creator of the stars of night

Alison Willis: He had not where to lay his head

Lucy Walker: In the bleak mid-winter

Sarah MacDonald: Love has come

Eleanor Daley: On Christmas night          

arr. Kerry Boyle: Silent night                     

Sasha Johnson Manning: Summer in Winter

arr. June Nixon: The cherry tree carol

Alison Willis: The three kings             

Electra Perivolaris: There is no rose                   

arr. June Nixon: This endris night

Tamsin Jones: Tomorrow shall be my dancing day

Ghislaine Reece-Trapp: Veni, Redemptor gentium

Sasha Johnson Manning: What sweeter music

Yshani Perinpanayagam: When God made Eve

160 pages

Date of first publication: July 2023


Printed Copy

ISMN 9790900251817


Join Our Mailing List

Enter your email address to receive details of new publications & special offers.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy & Terms of Service apply.